Central District

Firefighters of Central Pennsylvania

Last updated  1/9/2020


                     Counties of the Association

Bedford, Blair, Cambria, Centre, Clearfield, Clinton, Cumberland, Dauphin, Elk, Fulton, Huntingdon, Indiana, Jefferson, Juniata, Lycoming, McKean, Mifflin, Montour, Northumberland, Snyder, Somerset, Tioga, Union, York

    NOTICE - 1/9/2020

1/6/2020 It is with great sadness that we announce the passing the long time Elk County Vice President John Neilson this past weekend.

1/9/2020 It is with great sadness we announce the passing of Past President Clyde Sheehan. There will be a viewing on Friday 1/10/2020 4 - 8 pm with a Fireman's Service at 6:30 pm at Matevish & Matevish Funeral Home, 307 N Center St, Ebensburg, PA 15931

John H. "Jack" Neilson, 65, died the morning of January 5, 2020, at Mountain Laurel Healthcare and Rehabilitation Center, Clearfield, following a lengthy illness.
He was born on November 29, 1954, in Ridgway, the son of Walter C. Neilson Sr. and Mary M. Heindl Neilson.
He married Juanita K. Roberts on April 25, 1981, in the Interfaith Chapel, Warren, who survives.
He resided in Johnsonburg all his life and graduated from Johnsonburg High School in 1974.
He was involved with Holy Rosary Church and Johnsonburg Fire Department for 49 years where he was a Lieutenant Firefighter for five years. He was an EMT for both the St. Marys Ambulance Co. and the Johnsonburg Ambulance Co. He was also a Pennsylvania State Fire Instructor and a member of the Tri-County Firemen's Association and the Central District Firemen's Association for which he was the county Vice President.
He had retired from Domtar Corporation, Johnsonburg Mill in 2011 after 46 years of service.
He is survived by his wife at home; three children, Kimberlee Neilson of Johnsonburg, Victoria Neilson of Johnsonburg, and Brian Neilson and his wife Kaitlin of Ebensburg; one grandson, Thomas Geise-Gdula; and several nieces, nephews, aunts and cousins. He is also survived by one brother, Robert Neilson and his longtime companion Rhonda Proulx of Coventry, Rhode Island.
He was predeceased in death by his parents and brothers, Walter "Charlie" Neilson Jr. and James "Jiggs" Neilson.
A Mass of Christian Burial for John "Jack" Neilson will be celebrated at Holy Rosary Church, Johnsonburg, on Friday, January 10, 2020, at 10 a.m. Officiated will be Fr. David Wilson, Pastor.
Internment will take place at Parklawn Memorial Gardens, Ridgway. There will be no visitation.
Arrangements are under direction of the Anthony F Ferragine Funeral Home 401 Chestnut Street Johnsonburg, PA.
If desired, memorial contributions should be made to the Johnsonburg Fire Dept., 99 Clarion Rd., Johnsonburg, PA




You are visitor


The Central District Volunteer Firemen's Association

Established 1892


President -  Larry Carter Jr., Lewistown PA - August 13,14,15, 2020 - 717-348-5444

1 st Vice President - Eldon R Mickel, New Paris, PA, Schellsburg, August 26,27,28, 2021, 814-839-4984

2 nd Vice President - Shawn L McMullen, Nanty Glo, PA, August 18-19-20, 2022, 814-749-9468

3 rd Vice President - Kirk A Pote, Roaring Spring, PA, August 17-18-19, 2023

Chaplain - Leonard E Alwine, Altoona PA - 814-943-4397

Assistant Chaplain - Elmer R Bailey, Spangler PA - 724-568-2103

Secretary - Gerald T Corbin, Hollidaysburg PA - 814-695-7165

Assistant Secretary - Thomas I Morgan, Altoona, PA - 814-935-2252

Treasurer - James W Reilly, Hollidaysburg PA - 814-942-7986

Assistant Treasurer - Robert Muldoon, Hollidaysburg PA - 814-696-1043


Contact the webmaster at this link: webmaster


Educational Links


Newest Members

Recent Photos